Toronto Symphony Orchestra

February 2nd, 2012

Tonight, I’ve planned an evening out with my dad to see the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO).  I haven’t had the privilege yet to see the TSO.  So with my brother’s recommendation in hand and link to TSO’s Sound Check to buy cheaper tickets from one of his friends, I bought tickets for tonight’s show.

My dad and I will be seeing Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto.  I’m not too familiar with the classical pieces and since I haven’t seen the TSO before, I’m excited to check out tonight’s concert.  According to the TSO website, a former TSO music director, Günther Herbig, will be leading the symphony and Anton Kuerti will be playing the piano concerto.


I had to do some research to familiarize myself with the story behind the music.  The composition, Beethoven’s last piano concerto, was written in Vienna over a few years from 1809 to 1811. For the classical music buff, the concerto is in the key of E flat, a key that Beethoven returned to over and over again.

Emperor Concerto Movement 1

It is a 40 minute concerto divided into three movements – Allegro in E-flat major, Adagio un poco mosso in B major and Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo in E-flat major.  I don’t really know what these three movements mean and how it translates into music.

With the basics above, I’m looking forward to listening to the symphony and its interpretation of Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto.  I will do a post sometime next week highlighting what I thought.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *